From Aalto to Zumthor: Furniture by Architects

Von Aalto bis Zumthor. From Aalto to Zumthor

58281516727d1.jpg Author Gabrielle Lueg and Petra Hesse
Isbn 9783863351274
File size 135MB
Year 2012
Pages 160
Language English
File format PDF
Category Architecture

Book Description:

Furniture by Architects surveys the twentieth-century tradition of innovative furniture design by architects, which stems into the present as architects continue to design movable furnishings for their buildings, creating aesthetically unified environments. The book poses such questions as: do architects design differently to product designers? Do they exhibit any consistent aesthetic preferences? Is there something typically architectural in their designs? Furniture by Architects features works by Alvar Aalto, Ron Arad, Gae Aulenti, Karl Bertsch, Emil Beutinger, Marcel Breuer, Pierre Chareau, Egon Eiermann, El Lissitsky, Norman Foster, Frank Gehry, Walter Gropius, Zaha Hadid, Marc Held, Josef Hoffmann, Arne Jacobsen, Le Corbusier, Daniel Libeskind, Gio Ponti, Richard Riemerschmid, Gerrit Rietveld, Eero Saarinen, Mackay Hugh Baillie Scott, O.M. Ungers, Mies van der Rohe, Otto Wagner, Frank Lloyd Wright and Peter Zumthor, among others.


Download (135MB)

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *