59e53c6aa8b41.jpg
PDF
Scripting Dance in Contemporary India

As stories of Indian dance's renaissance span almost a full century, there has emerged a globally dispersed community of Indian dancers, scholars and audiences who are deeply committed to keeping these traditions alive and experimenting with traditional dance languages to grapple with contemporary themes and issues. Scripting Dance in Contemporary India is an edited volume that contributes to this field of Indian dance studies. The b...

59e53c691b036.jpg
PDF
American Dialects: A Manual for Actors, Directors, and Writers, 2nd Edition

This standard text, now in paperback for the first time-- the companion volume to Foreign Dialects-- American Dialects offers representative dialects of every major section of the United States. In each case, a general description and history of the dialect is given, followed by an analysis of vowel and consonant peculiarities, of its individual lilt and rhythm, and of its grammar variations. There are also lists of the idioms and id...

59e4548f62f13.jpg
PDF
Redefining Kitsch and Camp in Literature and Culture

Redefining Kitsch and Camp in Literature and Culture is a collection of fourteen essays dealing with the performative character of kitsch and camp aesthetics in popular culture and avant-garde productions. Anticipated in both literature and culture, the book traces the evolution of two aesthetics from a number of theoretical perspectives, including gender studies, queer studies, popular culture studies, aesthetics, film studies and p...

59e4548da9558.jpg
PDF
The Dispossessed State: Narratives of Ownership in Nineteenth-Century Britain and Ireland

Do indigenous peoples have an unassailable right to the land they have worked and lived on, or are those rights conferred and protected only when a powerful political authority exists? In the tradition of John Locke and Thomas Hobbes, who vigorously debated the thorny concept of property rights, Sara L. Maurer here looks at the question as it applied to British ideas about Irish nationalism in the nineteenth century. This book connec...

59e3f9ee1be16.jpg
PDF
Imagining Methodism in Eighteenth-Century Britain

In the eighteenth century, British Methodism was an object of both derision and desire. Many popular eighteenth-century works ridiculed Methodists, yet often the very same plays, novels, and prints that cast Methodists as primitive, irrational, or deluded also betrayed a thinly cloaked fascination with the experiences of divine presence attributed to the new evangelical movement. Misty G. Anderson argues that writers, actors, and art...

59e3f9ecb2c36.jpg
PDF
Protecting Intellectual Freedom in Your Academic Library

Barbara Jones uses her experience and expertise to offer an intellectual freedom title tailored to the academic library environment. This title presents a number of scenarios in which intellectual freedom is at risk and includes case studies that provide narrative treatment of common situations tailored to your library type; easy and motivating ways to prepare new hires for handling intellectual freedom issues; sidebars throughout th...

59e2b02f49219.jpg
PDF
Mopan Maya-Spanish-English Dictionary

Charles Andrew Hofling Smithsonian-Utah Publications in American Indian Languages Lyle Campbell and Ives Goddard Linguistics This is highly valuable dictionary of the Mopan (Mayan) language. In addition to its many entries, it also provides an introductory grammatical description, as well as general dictionary features such as parts of speech, examples, cross-references, variant forms, homophones, and indexes. The book also contains ...

59e2b02de9ef6.jpg
PDF
Speaking of the Moor: From "Alcazar" to "Othello"

Selected by Choice magazine as an Outstanding Academic Title "Speak of me as I am," Othello, the Moor of Venice, bids in the play that bears his name. Yet many have found it impossible to speak of his ethnicity with any certainty. What did it mean to be a Moor in the early modern period? In the late sixteenth and early seventeenth centuries, when England was expanding its reach across the globe, the Moor became a central character on...

59e29f5b9e83a.jpg
PDF
Essential French Grammar

Essential French Grammar is a student-friendly French grammar designed to give learners a firm foundation on which to build a real understanding of both spoken and written French. Clear explanations of grammar are supported by contemporary examples, lively cartoon drawings and a variety of exercises. Key features of each chapter: each grammar point explained initially with reference to English parallels between English and French pro...

59e29f59d2e41.jpg
PDF
The Price of Linguistic Productivity

All languages have exceptions alongside overarching rules and regularities. How does a young child tease them apart within just a few years of language acquisition? In this book, drawing an economic analogy, Charles Yang argues that just as the price of goods is determined by the balance between supply and demand, the price of linguistic productivity arises from the quantitative considerations of rules and exceptions. The learner pos...