Opera and Modern Spectatorship in Late Nineteenth-Century Italy

Cambridge Studies in Opera

56c88d0c29f63.jpeg Author Alessandra Campana
Isbn 9781107051898
File size 6 Mb
Year 2015
Pages 222
Language English
File format PDF
Category Music

Book Description:

Alessandra Campana examines four late nineteenth-century operas, Mefistofele by Arrigo Boito, Simon Boccanegra by Verdi, Otello by Verdi and Manon Lescaut by Puccini, and a silent film scored by Mascagni, to explore for the first time how opera participated in the making of a modern public in post-unification Italy.



Download (6 Mb)

No Comments

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *